Florida DUI Penalties

The punishment and sanctions for even a first DUI are harsh with long lasting consequences. You need a Gainesville, Florida DUI attorney with the proven experience, skill and persistence to get you the results you need and deserve.  Contact Gainesville DUI Defense Attorney and former DUI and drug prosecutor Kevin Robertson immediately.  Please contact Mr. Robertson today at (352) 275 – 7491 to discuss your DUI arrest in the Gainesville, Alachua County, Florida area, including Baker County, Bradford County, Gilchrist County, Levy County or Union County.

First DUI Conviction Penalties

 

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Fine *

$500

$1,000

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

$1,000

$2,000

Probation

One Day

One Year

Jail Time *

Day of Arrest

Six Months

Enhanced Penalty if your BAC was greater than .15 or a minor was in vehicle

Day of Arrest

Nine Months

License Suspension

180 Days

One Year

Impoundment of Vehicle

Mandatory Ten Day Period

Ignition Interlock Device

None

Six Months

Other Penalties

  • 50 hours of community service.
  • Completion of approved DUI Counter Attack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

Second DUI Conviction Penalties

A conviction for 2nd DUI requires jail, installation of ignition interlock device and other severe penalties:

 

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Fine *

$1,000

$2,000

* If BAC >= .15; Or a minor was in vehicle

$2,000

$4,000

Probation

One Day

One Year

Jail Time *

Ten Days

Nine Months

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

Ten Days

Twelve Months

License Suspension

Five Years

Impoundment

10 Days; 30 Days if Second DUI Within Three years

Ignition Interlock Device

For a Minimum of One Year

Other Penalties

  • Completion of DUI Counter Attack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

Second DUI Outside Five Years of First Conviction

 

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Fine *

$1,000

$2,000

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

$2,000

$4,000

Probation

Six Months

One Year

Jail Time *

Day of Arrest

Nine Months

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehiclee

Day of Arrest

Twelve Months

License Suspension

Six Months

One Year

Impoundment

Mandatory Ten Day Period

Ignition Interlock Device

For a Minimum of One Year

Other Penalties

  • Completion of approved DUI Counter Attack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

Third DUI Within Ten Years of First Conviction

 

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Fine *

$1,000

$2,500

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

$2,000

$5,000

Probation

One Day

One Year

Jail Time *

Day of Arrest

Twelve Months

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

Day of Arrest

Twelve Months

License Suspension

Permanent Revocation

Impoundment

Mandatory Ten Day Period

Ignition Interlock Device

At Least Two Years

Other Penalties

  • Completion of approved DUI Counter Attack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

Fourth DUI Charged as Misdemeanor

 

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Fine *

$1,000

$2,500

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

$2,000

$5,000

Probation

One Day

One Year

Jail Time *

Day of Arrest

Twelve Months

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

Day of Arrest

Twelve Months

License Suspension

Permanent Revocation

Impoundment

Mandatory Ten Day Period

Ignition Interlock Device

At Least Two Years

Other Penalties

  • Completion of approved DUI Counter Attack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

Fourth DUI Charged as Felony

 

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Fine *

$1,000

$5,000

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

$1,000

$5,000

Probation

One Day

Five Years

Jail Time *

Day of Arrest

Five Years

* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle

Day of Arrest

Five Years

License Suspension

Permanent Revocation

Impoundment

Mandatory Ten Day Period

Ignition Interlock Device

At Least Two Years

Other Penalties

  • Completion of approved DUI Counter Attack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

Gainesville DUI Attorney Free Case Evaluation

Kevin Robertson is an experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer, DUI attorney and former DUI and Drug Prosecutor.  Contact Kevin today to discuss your case in the Gainesville, Alachua County area, including Baker County, Bradford County, Gilchrist County, Levy County or Union County.

Burglary in Florida | Gainesville Attorney Kevin Robertson

DUI penalties are harsh. And expensive with long-ranging consequences. DUI is an enhancement crime where the penalties and jail or prison time get worse with each conviction.

Contact My Office

Please call with your questions. If you would like to meet in person, at no cost to you, let me know. I look forward to hearing from you.

Info

352-275-7491
kevin@kevinrobertsonlaw.com